Search the forum,

Discuss Tile line problems either side of border in bathroom in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

Sharkysharky

Hello chaps !

Please forgive me if this is a simple problem but I'm a newbie and this is the first proper tiling job I've ever attempted.

I'm tiling my bathroom and the vertical tile lines line up pretty much perfect either side of the border (the bottoms grouted, I'm currently tiling the top), apart that is, from the one vertical column I'm working on, the right hand side of the tile on top is well over the right hand side of the grout line on the bottom below the border. It's almost as if this particular row of tiles is slightly wider than the other tiles. The left hand side of the column match up fine. Have I dropped a clanger somewhere ?

As far as I can see I've got 2 options, take that particular column off and try again, or ever so slightly sand down the right hand side of the top column to bring it back into line with the same point on the bottom of the border. It'll be about 4 mm slimmer but I don't think it will be noticable. Any ideas from the pros ? Thanks I really appreciate it:mad2:

I

Ian

Any chance of a picture or 2? Don't fully understand the problem. Welcome along to the forum.

D

Daz

Can you post a few pics to illustrate the issue please?

BTW welcome to TF.

Last edited by a moderator:
B

Brinkley

are you talking about sanding tiles down by 4mm you still cant bend tiles as they are rigid so pics would be good as i may be totally off here

S

Spud

do you have 2 different colour tiles say dark on the bottom then the border then a light colured tile ,If so you may have a slightly larger (wider ) tile even if they are from the same factory this often happens ,the only way to deal with it is to slightly close the joints above the border tile

S

Sharkysharky