Search the forum,

Discuss Quarry tiles (I think) for the thousandth time of asking... in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

N

neilgilmour

Hi Guys, great forum you've got here. I was searching for help restoring quarry tiles and ended up here for hours last night reading everything.

So - I'm no tiler, I teach canoeing and climbing for a living. We've just moved in to an old farmhouse near Whitchurch in North Shropshire, and when I pulled the manky carpet tiles off the kitchen floor (and after a day of removing adhesive) I found the floor in pic 1.

I'm guessing these are very old quarry tiles. They are about 3cm thick, and seem to be laid on sand (although I read in another post this could have been lime). What can I do to clean them up and preserve them? Should I grout them, or just leave as is? Can I seal them? The mrs is starting up a catering business from home, so ideally for food hygiene it needs to be a sealed surface which can be mopped down.

Thanks in advance, and if you want to go climbing anytime, I'm your man!

Neil

Attachments

• Last Import - 1.jpg
    141.7 KB · Views: 79
  • Last Import - 2.jpg
    182.6 KB · Views: 65
  • Last Import - 3.jpg
    159.6 KB · Views: 63
  • Last Import - 4.jpg
    164.9 KB · Views: 64
  • Last Import - 5.jpg
    150 KB · Views: 52
W

wetdec

Hi

Ok looks like a very old engineered tile similar to the engineer brick you see on old houses. The condition throws you a bit as they are either seriously ancient or they were made antiqued the latter is the less likely as they did things propper in them days.

Because of the way the surfaces appear using an acid would likely do more damage so an alkali (limestone cleaner) would be your best bet...

The bombshell is because of the condition excessive pitting etc they are unlikely to pass it for a food prep area but thats my opinion and you may already know different.

E

enduro