Discuss Outdoor Patio with Porcelain slabs in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to here & stumbled across this site in my pursuit of finding the best solution for laying my patio.
After much searching on google & youtube I am lening towards the following.... [please correct me if i'm wrong or missing out any processes]
  1. Excovate existing soil to required depth
  2. Compacted Type 1 sub base [75-100mm]
  3. Screeded bed [75-100mm] which includes a fall of 1:60 away from the house. [min 6 weeks cure before bedding tiles]
I an keen on the screed bed, as I have limited experience laying external slabs & feel it is essential for me to produce a true flat base to lay onto & using a thinner bed external adhesive.

FYI the tile dimensions will most likely be 600 or 800mm2 dimensions of the patio will be roughly 7m wide by 2.4m deep.
The patio will be based around full tiles. So minimal cutting other than a down pipe drain

So this is where i have a few specific questions
  1. Do i need to use 20mm slabs if i have a well prepped base below or is 10mm sufficient?
  2. What adhesive product should i use for the tiles & what bed height should i use [recommendation of trowel please]. Specific brand examples for both would be an amazing help!
  3. Do i still need to use a bonding/priming solution on the back of the tiles if im using an adhesive, or do i just back butter with adhesive?
  4. Do i need to add expansion joints to the screed or tiles? What would i use for these?
  5. Do i need to put a drainage matt on top of the screed.
Appreciate any advise to help me along the way on my project.

Reaction score