Search the forum,

Discuss Floor prep in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

W

Woody123

Hi all

Doing a job for the father in law at the weekend and he insisted on doing the prep to hellp me out! Anyway the original floor is 18mm weyrock floor i think and he has overboarded it with another 18mm tongue and groove chipboard. I have checked the floor is screwed down properley and there is no movement in the slightest. I have never used this stuff before as i have always overboarded with ply. Does anyone else ever go down this route as i asked how much he paid for it and it was only £5.69 for a sheet of 2.4m x 0.6m from B & Q so it was alot cheaper than ply. Im happy there is no movement so will this be ok to tile to? As it is not the norm for me am i just being paranoid? (By the way im just laying ceramics and will be using a flexi addy and grout)

M

murf

I would never tile onto chipboard, it can break down over time
no matter what adhesive you use.

G

grumpygrouter

Solidity is the main issue with floors IMO. Some guys on here will not tile directly to chipboard no matter what as it can be a bit unstable. Ideally, 18mm ply would have been better but as you say, it is more expensive. You can use an appropriate adhesive such as Ardexflex 7001 or maybe Mapei Keraquick with latexplus but really, you would be better overlaying with 6mm hardiebacker first. Tjhs get around some of the instability issues of chipboard.

W

Woody123

I thought there must be a reason why i have never seen this method used. Is it just if moisture gets in it breaks down easy? I know he wont change it now as he has fitted his new bath and shower tray on top of it. Would SPF not be suitable for this job then grumpy? you have me worried now :mad2:

C

cornish_crofter

As someone who has repaired several chipboard bathroom floors, I would advise against chipboard as a flooring material in the bathroom in general, even the treated stuff.