Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Wet Room Construction Options - Advice Pls! in the Tanking and Wetrooms Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

D

dashing66

Hi there folks, I'm a newbie to this forum so apols if I commit a gaffe or two. Quick question if I may, my plumber has offered me two choices regarding the construction of a wet room. Either Marmox sheets or moisture board which would then be tanked. After a bit of impartial advice as to which method I should go with.
Thanks in advance!
Dashing.

Reaction score
Hi Dashing & welcome to the forum.
Plumbers offering advice on wet-room construction can be a real hit or miss calculation you should make before committing to installation.
Is he competent of installing a wet room and has he a proven track record of installations previous.
Most plumbers I know should stay clear of wet room installs and without experience or wet room qualifications, should not be quoting for these jobs anyway.
In my experience most plumbers are not capable of installing wet rooms.
Right! back to your question.
If your "Plumber" has given you a choice between Marmox or moisture boards I hope your talking about wall preparation and in my opinion Marmox is superior!! However, Moisture board installed with a good tanking kit like Ardex will work fine and also should be more cost effective.
I would also recommend you should Incorporate UFH with all wetroom installations and your tiling is carried out by a competent fitter.
I honestly don't mean to give Plumbers a bad name in fitting wet rooms as I am also a plumber, but trained in Impey wet room installations, and has a proven track record to back it up.
Sorry if I give you earache in this plumber bashing and wish you well with your install.

O

One Day