Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Urgent Pro Advice needed!!! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

G

Grace'sDad

Hi guys, I have called back at home specifically to ask this. I'm on a job this week and I had planned on overboarding the 5" t&g floorboards and using normal flexible adhesives and wide joint grouts. Now my customer wants to avoid raising the levels. I've never used BAL fast flex 2 part adhesive before so I don't know what to expect. I know it's very expensive but IF IT WORKS then I'll save in ply and time (some of which I can pass on to my customer). Is it suitable for cleaned, primed, 5" t&g floor boards with only a very slight deflection? For over 100years old, the floor is in good shape. I know everyone prefers to overboard, but has anyone here any experience with this? The largest area is approx 4m x 4m. Joists are at 350mm approx and of course i'll ensure all boards are well screwed down. Thanks peeps!

G

GazTech

Hi guys, I have called back at home specifically to ask this. I'm on a job this week and I had planned on overboarding the 5" t&g floorboards and using normal flexible adhesives and wide joint grouts. Now my customer wants to avoid raising the levels. I've never used BAL fast flex 2 part adhesive before so I don't know what to expect. I know it's very expensive but IF IT WORKS then I'll save in ply and time (some of which I can pass on to my customer). Is it suitable for cleaned, primed, 5" t&g floor boards with only a very slight deflection? For over 100years old, the floor is in good shape. I know everyone prefers to overboard, but has anyone here any experience with this? The largest area is approx 4m x 4m. Joists are at 350mm approx and of course i'll ensure all boards are well screwed down. Thanks peeps!