Search the forum,

Discuss Tiling on wood in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

Tlm

Hi I'm new to this and could really do with some advice about tiling a kitchen floor. We have tiled on top of tongue and groove waterproof chipboard flooring, "wyrock" which we then primed with pva 5 parts to one, before laying ceramic tiles with what we understood was flexible adhesive. Since then the tiles are coming loose and the grout is cracking out. we are not sure of the best way to solve the problem, whether it's the adhesive/grout we used or to wood flooring underneath. Also could we just tile over it or do we need to pull them up and start from scratch???

S

shaunykieron

have a look at this mate one of the other lads brought it to the attention of the forum recently.

How to tile floor susing the Schluter Ditra Matting. Well worth watching guys and gals!
----
Added post information (due to double posting):
----
"Schluter®-DITRA is used as a waterproofing and uncoupling membrane for use in Tile and Natural Stone installations over plywood and concrete.

Visit http://www.schluter.com/eng...
for more info
Schluter®-DITRA is a polyethylene membrane with a grid structure of square, cut-back cavities and an anchoring fleece laminated to its underside. In conjunction with tiled coverings, Schluter®-DITRA forms an uncoupling, waterproofing, and vapor pressure equalization layer. "
----
sorry didn't work on the search funtion on the home page type in ditra matting the link should then come up its a clip from u tube

Last edited by a moderator:
C

calculator