Search the forum,

Discuss plastering and tiling onto a stud wall?? HELP!! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

MonkeyBoy81

Hi people,

I'm new to this and am putting in a new bathroom for my girlfriend. in order for the bath to fit into the alcove in the bathroom I have had to strip the layer of plasterboard back so that the stud wall is exposed. Now the bath fits in perfectly and so am going to fix in some plasterboard in between the studs so it is recessed and flush with the studs, as this is the only way I can see it working without having to take out the whole stud wall and make it thinner!!

Now my question is, once the plasterboard is in, what's the best way of sealing the 2 x 1 bits of the stud wall that is still exposed so that I can plaster over them and then tile the wall??

What sort of primer should I use to protect the 2x1 timber but will also allow me to plaster??

Any help would be much appreciated!
Thank-you

D

DHTiling

Hello and welcome...

Can you not chop into the opposite wall as well to move the bath over and then just re-board on top of the studs.....if it is only the thickness of the board then just even it up......much easier and a better job........

Make sure you seal the gaps before tiling as well......

M

MonkeyBoy81

Unfortunatly I can't touch the other wall. The only way the bath will fit is by having the studs exposed, and sorry the studs are 4x2 rather than 2x1, and so just need to know if it's ok to seal these and then plaster over as normal and then tile, if so what sealant would I have to use??

Thank-you

D

DHTiling

Do you not have enough tolerance on the bath to allow the board 9mm or 12mm to hang over the bath edge...?....

I just think that by boarding in-between the studs you are creating a movement problem and cracks could appear in the tiles/grout lines.or plaster....if it's a must to do it your way then cover the wall in a crack isolation membrane and tile onto that..( no plaster )...