Search the forum,

Discuss Hi and Help with damp issues in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

Jody

Hi

I have just joined this forum and need help! I work as a plumber. I have a problem with a bathroom I installed just over a year ago. I was called back in because tiles around the bath in the shower zone were loose. I removed all 'moving' tiles and found the adhesive to be damp and water pooling round the silicone barrier between bath and wall but no leak on any pipework or the shower unit. I decided to turn off mains and remove shower head which involved going under the floor.

There was quite a lot of water under the floor and discovered a waste pipe from the washing machine, dishwasher and utility room sink had been left unconnected and just emptying under the floor (another contractor had installed new kitchen and utility room).

The owner has had several surveyors etc look at the problem - my question is - with all this warm water under the floor, is there not a humidity problem and could this have affected the wall with my tiles in the adjacent room causing the adhesive and grout to fail? I am meeting a surveyor at the property and apparently, they are all saying that this waste water would not have caused any damage?? And the tile problem is because the grout has failed. I beg to differ! Does anyone have any advice or experience with this sort of problem??

Many thanks for reading and any help greatly appreciated

S

Stewart

So if I've got this right.... You think that water under the floor of the bathroom has affected the adhesive, grout and bonding of a row of tiles around the bath resulting in failure....

the only way I can think of water under the floor damaging the tiles and substrate, we're if you had rising damp. If you did, the wall below the bath would be wet to the core and would be quite noticeable on both sides of the wall.