Discuss Best route into the industry?? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

mattp

Hi all,

I'm after some advice! I've been contemplating a career in the construction industry for some time now after buying my own house and doing the majority of the work (I was able to do) myself. I did tile my own kitchen and really enjoyed it, hence would like to change my career and work as a tiler. Other than my 1 DIY job at home, I don't have any experienece, but I am willing to learn, enthusiastic and happy to work hard to get where I want to be.
I'm unsure of the best route to follow. Am I best researching a number of training companies and paying for a course privately, then looking for work as a trainee/apprentice or is it generally better to try and gain work with a company/tiler as a complete novice?
I'm just about to turn 25, I'm not sure if that has any impact on being eligible for government funded NVQ's, if so, is this likely to have an impact on people wanting to employ me?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Matt

C

charlie1

Hi ,MATTP

You will find it extreamly difficult to get a with a company/ tiler as a novice as when you are trained you will be dirrect compitition to the guy who trained you. Your best route in to the industry would be to go on a 1 or 2 week course (i recomend NETT) and find work privatly yourself.

Good luck:thumbsup:

M

mattp

Thanks guys. I always worry that the 1 & 2 week courses won't give me enough knowledge to actually go and start some jobs myself. In regards to the NVQ, from the researching I've done, is that easy enough to gain once I've been working for a while and have some experience?

C

charlie1

Thanks guys. I always worry that the 1 & 2 week courses won't give me enough knowledge to actually go and start some jobs myself. In regards to the NVQ, from the researching I've done, is that easy enough to gain once I've been working for a while and have some experience?