Search the forum,

Discuss Tiling a bathroom in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

adam_starkie

Hi,

I am new to tiling, as you can probably tell when you read further onto this message, anyway here is my problem.

I just had a new bathroom suit fitted, and cant afford to get a tiler in to tile it for me, so i have to get it done myself.

The problem I have is that I have tiled the back wall, with even cuts either side of the wall, so it look cemetrical BUT...

when i go to put a tile onto the corner of the wall to start the new wall and row of tiles...the tiles are a MILE out, they dont join up close to each other and i am stuck. the back wall which is tiled now, is straight, using a spirit level ..but no matter what I do the tiles will not join up from the side wall behind where the taps are to the tiles on the wall that is already tiled. What can I do about it ?

Any advice / info regarding this will be extremly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

-Adam

A

adam_starkie

I see what you mean.

Put a batton on the wall to create a straight edge then tile away from that and then put the cuts into the wall ......from the batton to the wall ... ?

meaning that the cut at the top of the tile might be longer than the cut at the bottom of the tile ? - sorry to sound so thick here, its just been chewing at me for ages ...plus the window is quite near to the wall that is miles away from the tiles

M

mikel

I see what you mean.

Put a batton on the wall to create a straight edge then tile away from that and then put the cuts into the wall ......from the batton to the wall ... ?

meaning that the cut at the top of the tile might be longer than the cut at the bottom of the tile ? - sorry to sound so thick here, its just been chewing at me for ages ...plus the window is quite near to the wall that is miles away from the tiles
That`s right. Never rely on walls being straight. Always use a spirit level to set battens and work off these. Good luck.

M

medlar