Search the forum,

Discuss Problems with glass mosaic wall tiles in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

E

elaine17

Hi all,

I am a newbie and diyer. We are retiling the bathroom in our new house but are having some problems with the glass mosaic wall tiles we have. Basically, the mosaics are going to create a vertical stripe approx 20cm wide and also a splashback.

My brother in law is doing the tiling, he has had a bit of experience with normal wall and floor tiles and also some mosaics, though not like the ones we are trying to use.

He has tiled the wall where the stripe is to be with the main wall tiles and left the space for the mosaic infill. He put the first tile in from the bottom, with the bottom of the tile resting on a batten fixed to the wall. He is using BAL mosaic tile fix, and a mosaic trowel. All looked fine until he put the second sheet of mosaic above the first which then caused both sheets to sag. :yikes:

The mosaics are coloured glass with a fibre mesh back, and are quite heavy. The tiles have also started to come away from the mesh where my BIL is trying to position the individual tiles to stop sagging.

BIL thinks that it could be that he is using too much adhesive. As the mosaics are thinner than the wall tiles, he is using a thicker bed of adhesive to get the mosaic to be level with the main wall tile. He thinks it may be necessary to put something in the space for the mosaic before tiling, such as a 4mm tile backer board or 4mm coat of plaster, so that the mosaics will be flush to the tiles. The walls already have aquapanel on them as it is partition wall.

Please could anyone advise on the best technique for putting on mosaic glass wall tiles, to get them to hold position without sagging, and to get them to be the same level as the main wall tile??

Really appreciate any help you guys can give!!

Cheers
Ellie

C

charlie1