Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Pricing up in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I’m just after abit of advice. I’ve been tiling for 2 years now Self employed but sub contracting to the same person and I’m now thinking about going On my own full time. I was just wondering how you lot price up new builds. Do you put a price in that includes everything or do you put a price in let’s £50m2 but that only includes labour trim adhesive and grout then you put the price of tiles on top. I.e 6m2 wall tiling £300 for labour trim etc plus £180 for tiles so overall price £480? Thanks in advance much appreciated

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I’m just after abit of advice. I’ve been tiling for 2 years now Self employed but sub contracting to the same person and I’m now thinking about going On my own full time. I was just wondering how you lot price up new builds. Do you put a price in that includes everything or do you put a price in let’s £50m2 but that only includes labour trim adhesive and grout then you put the price of tiles on top. I.e 6m2 wall tiling £300 for labour trim etc plus £180 for tiles so overall price £480? Thanks in advance much appreciated

Hello Bud, Depends on the job. Assess the job. If you're going over fresh board or newly plastered, then this will go smoother for you (as will a newly self levelled floor, but other floors may need self levelling, so you price in bags and labour on this separately), so i would price with basic plastic trim, adhesive and grout. If you come across a bathroom with uneven surfaces or big bowing in the wall then you will want to charge more time and more materials. (e.g. The soundness of the walls and levels of walls. if you're going to be bedding the walls out, it would be slower and it will cost more on materials).