Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Partnership or sole trader? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

G

graham1708

Hi all,

Just want to know your thoughts on partnership or sole trading.

My mate and I have been tiling together for the last 12 months on a 50/50 basis. Lately I have been wondering how efficient it is with the both of us tiling in the same bathroom.

I know on a good background I can probably fix 10m2 on a good day but with the both of us on the job I recon we would do between 12-13m2.

I just starting to think about efficiency and time and whether I should take the jump and go it alone.

The other reason behind this is money, obviously with 2 of us at 50/50 our prices can be high as I price for time as much as meterage.

Any thoughts will be helpful. (Please vote in the poll)

Last edited by a moderator:

Alan.P

TF
Reaction score
Must be a pretty big bathroom mate, how do you mean you price for time as well as m2 ? surely it's one or the other ?

And welcome to TF :welcome:

W

White Room

From my own experiance I've always remained on my own. Use a labourer for your running round, tile cuts and grouting just my personal opinion though

G

graham1708

Must be a pretty big bathroom mate, how do you mean you price for time as well as m2 ? surely it's one or the other ?

And welcome to TF :welcome:

If we are doing just 4m in a kitchen for instance, then the m2 price wouldn't feed both our families so I charge day rate for the two of us:8:

Alan.P

TF
Reaction score
If we are doing just 4m in a kitchen for instance, then the m2 price wouldn't feed both our families so I charge day rate for the two of us:8:

And you get the jobs :dizzy2: 'kin 'ell, I'm either doing it too fast or I need to up the price :lol:

D

doug boardley