Search the forum,

Discuss yellow pages in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK
I have a few rules I follow with anything like this. I take all the free ads I can get (and I expect to get marketing calls that annoy me a bit - comes part and parcel though). And I only spend money on my online presence, all directing traffic to my own website(s) AND NOT A 'RATE MY TILER' TYPE LISTING.

I would NOT pay for a lead, I would NOT pay a % of the job price to any website for the job, and I would NOT pay for a listing on a website (or in the yellow pages).

I WOULD pay for a half decent website though, and then Google Adwords only really. I've been toying with Facebook ads for the last 6 months and it doesn't work anywhere near as good as Google Adwords does.

I'd pay for the local rag though and I'd keep that going. Just a small ad, but a permanent one. It can be handy for when people forget your number but always know you'll be in the rag again next week, sort of thing.

L

London tilers

Yellow pages is old hat now,I'm sure some people get something out of it but online is the way to go I've been told so I have someone working on a new site for me just now.
Word of mouth should always be top,but you need different ways to get new customers.

I always google anything I'm looking for.

I got roped into a touchlocal paid listing,never again £40 a month for nothing,12 month contract,was 2 years ago.

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Gloucester
sounds like its just me then :lol:....i agree yellow pages is dying a death, and the ternet is the way to go, but while im still getting work from it that exceeds my add cost , then i will continue.

last year i got a 20m2 trav bathroom from a builder, a 23m2 bathroom from a private punter that i did just before xmas, and a few other small jobs from my older clients that have never turn a computer on, they went with me because of the 30yrs experince that is stated in my add.