Search the forum,

Discuss how to install cutting wheel on vitrex expert 500 plus in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

djh

First post, so be gentle!

I'm just starting out tiling (DIY) and have bought a Vitrex Expert 500 Plus.

Now I'm feeling really dumb because I can't figure out how to install the cutting wheel. The instructions say"Remove outer nut and washer" and I'm stuck already. :(

I've put the spanner on the nut but can't work out how to hold the shaft still whilst I turn the nut. I've tried holding the big metal disc (is that the inner washer?) and I've tried using a screwdriver in the slot in the shaft, but neither give me enough purchase to be able to loosen the nut.

So I have the feeling I'm missing something!

Thanks, Dave

D

djh

I tried going clockwise without success. But I didn't try too hard that way in case I made things worse, and I'd expect the instructions to mention it. Also the wheel is to be installed with the arrow pointing anti-clockwise, which I think confirms a normal thread.

Thanks for the thought!
Dave

T

Time's Ran Out

4 handed job I think Dave.
2 to hold the cutting wheel - with gloves if necessary.
1 to hold the machine.
1 to turn the nut.

OR

1 to hold the cutting wheel - with glove if necessary.
1 to hold screwdriver in slot.
1 to hold machine.
1 to turn nut.

Been there often with old Rubi wet cutter after months of use and its fun!

D

djh

I haven't got that far yet, John! I've just taken it out of the box and am trying to put the wheel on for the first time.

I guess I can summarise your message as "brute force is OK and probably needed". I'll give it another go with extra wellie.

I tried phoning Vitrex but I think they're still closed for Xmas. Perhaps I'll take it back to the shop and ask, but I'm not expecting too much there (it's a DIY shed).

Cheers, Dave

D

diamondtiling