Discuss Help Disaster In Making ie Yellow Grout in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

P

philibobs6

Hi all Im a newbie so here goes.

I decided to re tile my bathroom top to bottom, not a bad job to say it was my 1st time.

I tiled on top of exisitng tiles but after a few months the tiles have gone yellow, from where the shower is over the bath.

I took the old grout out and re did it but it only lasts a few months and happens again, the grout turns yellow.

I'm about to do this again but with the help of advice by the professionals, Ive been reading and learnt that I need an epoxy grout not just the normal b & q stuff, Ive learnt that this is not waterproof and epoxy is?

What do i need to do and exactly buy, also the same for the silicone around the bath this likes to turn from white to black, but what do i need to buy to fix this from turning a black colour.

PLease can you tell me what I should do, and buy and where from Im from the Castleford/Wakefield area or is b & q fine for what i may need.

Hope to hear from you all soon,

Regards

J

jay

hi a bit more info please whats your wall make up and you say you tiled over tiles can you tell us what tiles thanks:8:

T

Time's Ran Out

Change your shampoo to a different colour.
Stop wiping the tiles down with a yellow duster.
Don't smoke in the bathroom.

Just some of the reasons for yellow grout.

S

simon1

Don't forget, shampoo and shower gels may discolour grout.

Did you use a polymer modified (flexible) grout??

P

philibobs6

What adhesive did you use for the tile on tile
Hi, thanks for the reply, I used b and q 's own tile and grout stuff, as I was doing it as I remember I was using cerefix stuff bu the new tiles just fell off so used b and q's own stuff and the tiles stayed on.

P

philibobs6

hi a bit more info please whats your wall make up and you say you tiled over tiles can you tell us what tiles thanks:8: