Search the forum,

Discuss Warmup matting is not heating up in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

SOTON STEVE

Hi All

Went back to a customer to help programe theyre xstat 24hours ago. I told them to leave it on overnight because I understand that it can take a while to heat up. The job was completed 2 weeks ago. I had layed the warmup matting on 6mm Hardibacker on floor boards, 30x60 10mm granite tiles on top. No insulation boards used due to height restrictions. They phoned me up again this morning and said the tiles were still cold. I went back this afternoon to check with no luck. All the time I was laying the mat and then laying the tiles I had the watchdog switched on with no troubles plus used a plastic trowel. All screws for hardibacker where counter sunk ok. I'm sure I havent damaged the wire. I am a complete novice at electrics, so did all the relevent checks whilst installing. I had checked the wiring to the xstat and all looks present and correct. The interface on the xstat seems to be working fine, with the little red light on constantly to show its active . Still no heat. The electrician is going back on Tuesday to double check everything he'd done.

Has anyone got any advice.
I getting really worried. i'm racking my brains to think if I have done something wrong. At £15 a tile + mats + cable + labour = Huge hurt.

steve

D

DHTiling

Do a test on the mat...if this is OK then you are clear..

All you do is test the wires to the mat.. but the spark should have tested this before connecting up..

S

Scott

I not seen the watchdog before, gonna get me one of them!

Did you do the plug in test to see if it warmed up before laying? Its possible the sparky might have dropped a neutral on his side, fingers crossed!

D

DHTiling

Uheat sell Mat monitors ... Broken Link Removed

Last edited by a moderator:
S

SOTON STEVE

Steve.. I bet it is a sparky problem..let us know how it goes.:thumbsup:

I'm really hoping it is.