Search the forum,

Discuss UFH resistance checking. in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Sean Kelly

TF
Arms
Reaction score
I have searched high and low for instructions on how to test resistance on my Uheat UFH mat.
I bought the mats & multimeter from Uheat, but not too sure on how to use it. I set the multimeter dial to 200 ohms and plugged the leads into the COM and VΩmA holes. The other ends of the leads were touching on the live and neutral leads of the mat. I got 2 different readings from the 2 different sized mats. Reading one (small mat) was 41.1 and the other (large mat) was 31.4. Does this sound right?</SPAN>
Everyone is saying that laying the mats is easy, but this is my first time. I also bought the monitor, which will alarm if the cable breaks. Cheers Sean

G

Gazzer

Yes you will get different reading s depending on mat size. I am sure the readings were on the box when i used their system.

Sean Kelly

TF
Arms
Reaction score
Thanks Sir Ramic. Exactly what I was looking for. The small mat states 41. I get a reading of 41.1. The large mat states a reading of 33. I get a reading of 31.4. Is the 31.4 an acceptable reading? Cheers Sean

B

bert&ernie

Hi Sean,

The allowed tolerance is generally +/- 10% so as Sir Ramic has said you are fine. If you are ever unsure just give the guys at uheat a call and they will be happy to help

to hopefully help a little more you can work out the Resistance for yourself.

you first need to work out the Current (Amps) to do this you need the total Power (W), so for example if you have a 5m2 mat @ 160w/m2 then your total Power will be 5*160 = 800W.

You then divide this by the uk power supply (230v) 800/230 = 3.48Amps

You can now work out the Resistance (Ohms) by Dividing the Power supply by the Current. 230/3.48 = 66.09 or 66 Ohms.

Hope this helps and i have explained well enough.

Last edited by a moderator:
D

dagger