Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Original Style Pricing? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

R

redlee

I've been asked by a builder to quote for the following:-

Original style Warwick pattern http://www.originalstyle.com/downloads/victorian_floor_tiles/victorian-tiles.pdf

There is a 2m x 2m external porch, a 9.5m x 1.4m hallway which also has a 2.1 x 2.2m area on the side to form an L shape and a temporary wall at the end of the hallway which will be removed at a later date with the pattern to continue......

I need to price including materials with the client supplying the tiles.
Today! :thumbsup:

I've been tiling for 5 years but have never done geometric work before:lol:

Anybody give us an idea?
Cheers Lee.

T

Time's Ran Out

View attachment 3601

Redlee : This is a design described by others as Warwick with a traditional border.
Its a small entrance porch of about 3.5 sq mts and it took 2 days!
It is however just tiles cut from Pilkingtons dorest range of Red, Black and Stone.
Using the brand you've been asked to price the job on the centre pattern is straightforward and its possible to do about 4-5mts per day but the borders usually 15-20 linear mts per day.
Your floor is a total of approximately 22sq mts so I would base it on about 5-6days work (for me) and that's not including any floor preparation prior to tiling.
These type of floors are a learning curve and the price will depend on how much you want to learn. Its like marmite you'll either love doing them or find them a pain - but the rewards are great - satisfaction not financial. However until you do your first you'll never know!
If you decide to go for it contact me and I'll try to be a bit more precise for you.:thumbsup:

Timeless John.

Last edited by a moderator:
R

redlee