Discuss Epoxy grout - problem with the mix in the America area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

B

Buzzard

I've never used epoxy grout before and I'm just starting on a tiled worksurface.

The grout is (Litocrom) Starlike. It comes in a bucket, as a coarse paste, with a sachet of hardener.

I didn't want to mix more than enough for a very small area, just to see how hard it was to use. The trouble is, the mixing instructions say tip the whole sachet of hardener into the bucket, and mix thoroughly. That wouldn't let me experiment with a little at first, so what I tried was a mix of what I thought was the about the right proportion.

I'm guessing that I didn't use enough hardener, as an hour later the joints haven't hardened.

A couple of questions: if there isn't enough hardener in the mix, will it set eventually? or never at all? If it does set, will it be a poor joint?

Should I clean the joints out and try again if it doesn't harden later?

It's quite impossible (I think) to measure how much hardener there is in the sachet, so it seems very difficult to do a proper ratio. But I wonder what will happen if I use too much. Will the grout set in minutes rather than half an hour or so?

B

borgie

hi mate, u can only mix up the full tube at a time. it is calculated that way. if i were you i would rake out and start again. you will have to buy a new tub of epoxy as the 1 you have used will be no good now, due to the quantities being changed. take ur time with it. do small areas at a time. lots of warm water to wash off with. some epxy can take up to 24 hrs to set. read the label and follow the instructions and you should be fine. good luck.

B

Buzzard

some epxy can take up to 24 hrs to set. read the label and follow the instructions and you should be fine. good luck.