Search the forum,

Discuss Advice neded in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

I

ISENSE

Hi,

Newbie question. I've just had a shower room re-tiled and converted to a wetroom. They have had 3 attempts to get the drain right. The way they have left it now is that there is a drain under the wood floor. Then there is wood, a waterproof membrane and tiles above the drain with just a hole for the water - no pipework - just a decorative grill on top. This hole is sealed with silicon which is already starting to peal.

I'm no expert but this seems wrong to me. I'd appreciate any advice. Should I be insisting on some minimum specification or this this standard practice?

Thanks in advance

Martyn

G

GazTech

Hi,

Newbie question. I've just had a shower room re-tiled and converted to a wetroom. They have had 3 attempts to get the drain right. The way they have left it now is that there is a drain under the wood floor. Then there is wood, a waterproof membrane and tiles above the drain with just a hole for the water - no pipework - just a decorative grill on top. This hole is sealed with silicon which is already starting to peal.

I'm no expert but this seems wrong to me. I'd appreciate any advice. Should I be insisting on some minimum specification or this this standard practice?

Thanks in advance

Martyn
Tony wetdecs is an expert here, he will respond when on line Martyn......Gaz
http://www.tilersforums.com/clicks/click.php?id=50

I

ISENSE

Thank you people on this forum for your replies and PMs.

My builder had 3 attempts to fit a drain. Each one was improvised and did not use a purpose designed drain fitting. Luckily I had retained £2k of his bill. With the information from this forum I was able to research a suitable fitting and insist that he fit something similar.

This has now been done and the wet room works and looks great.

Thanks again for all your help

Reply to Advice neded in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com