Search the forum,

Discuss take on an apprentice in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

L

LM Ceramics

i had a phone call a lad asking if he could i wanted an apprentice it felt abit weird being a 20 yr old lad being asked if i wanted an apprentice anyway he said he tried alot of firms and they all said no i have been tiling 4 years on and off due to the shortage of work i know how hard it was to break into the tiling game i dont know whether i could afford a full time apprentice but i was considering a part time apprentice can they be benifical i know when i was an apprentice at 16 i was useless and thick and just a pain in the ***. im sure all of them aint like me

has anyone on here got an apprentice? any comments appreciated

Lee:thumbsup:

B

bigandy

i have had a couple over the years unfortunately one was family and could nt get up!(i only ever sarted at nine so not exactly early) he was a good worker and could have had a future but insisted on turning up late.the next thought he could tile after a couple of weeks with me needless to say fell flat on his face took a week to do five meters in a kitchen,he then asked me to go and sort it out(had to rip em and start again)but his has never put me off i would look again.

btw the best one i ever had was the misses!!!she still helps now and is great at everything but does nt let me go the chippy at dinner.

W

White Room

You could try a college near you that trains tilers, The students need to find someone to work with for part of the college thing, Not totaly sure of the in'ds and outs of it but give it a try

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
I'd never want to stop a company growing, even my competition (as they grow stronger, so does the market - therefore you - in most cases) though I'd perhaps consider waiting until you're taking on work yourself (I read you work for a building company yourself?).