Search the forum,

Discuss Warmup tape not sticking in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

A

Aanddy

Hello sorry to keep posting but I'm new to this and want to resolve my main tiling issues

Most jobs I use slc over warmup and no matter which primer I use warm ups own or different acrylic ones depending on which slc and adhesives I'm using I find the tape lifting once the slc is poured on depriving me of a beautiful perfectly flat floor :( and a lot of the time even minutes after its stuck down.
I've used the warmup pro wire which is good and resolves the problem but its exclusive to Topps at the moment and most of my materials are supplied from elsewhere .

I've spoken to warmup about it and they suggested warming up the tape on a radiator before use to enhance the adhesion which helps a little but not enough.

Also the substrate is usually 18mm wbp ply or 10mm insulation board

Any advice would be most appreciated.

J

jonnyc

try using glue spray and then press mat down with piece of wood when its gone just tacky

E

enduro

If you are using a mat then a staple gun is good to fix the mat to ply etc. Just dont staple the wires only the mat.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
Don't worry about posting a lot, it's what we're here for!

If you're buying UFH fairly often then checkout Electric Underfloor Heating | Warm Water | Under Floor Insulation | Frost Protection | Uheat as they can do trade prices for you.

Sometimes priming the substrate first can help as it gets rid of the dust and whatnot and helps anything to stick, whether using glue gun, tape, or self-adhesive matting.

Though it's not something new that you're experiencing to be fair. Quite common that UFH is a pain to stick down but it is usually always down to the substrate being dusty or whatever. I've used small bits of gaffa tape before now over the matting (again not the cable) on a primed floor and it works very well.

I

Ian