Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Cutting Large 1.8x0.2m Tiles? in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

M

Matthew77

Hi all

I'm just about to start a floor tiling job with some wooden plank effect porcelain tiles at a whopping 1.8m long and 200mm wide and as its over several (5)rooms ( around 70m2 total) I'm going to have to cut into doorways and slithers along the entire length of these tiles.
Although I've been tiling now for nearly 10 years I've never fixed tiles of this size before (I think the biggest porcelain I've done is probably 0.9m long) there is no way these tiles will cut on my big dewalt table saw or on any of my big Rubi dry cutters! So my only thoughts are to use an angle grinder with a monolit Evo2 porcelain blade for all these cuts! Just wondering if anyone else has had any experience with these sorts of porcelain tiles regarding cutting or if there are any better options than an angle grinder to cut these?
Thanks in advance
Matt

U

Unused Account 1

You need two to lay them ,and if you have to relift to add or take adhesive away,lol

O

Old Mod

Hey Matthew,
Sounds like a nice job!
Depends if u have any kind of budget for new cutting equipment.
If not, a grinder and good blade will work, I'd use a sponge on the blade at same time tho, 1800 is a long way and I'm sure u know, it'll heat up very quickly.
If u have some money to invest in new cutting gear, there are several options out there for sub £400.

R

robbieraven

Hopefully if the skirting has been removed you'll have margin for loose cuts on the edges which will go under the skirts. I'd use a table saw and as above a good mate to help you guide them through. Good luck.

M

Matthew77

You need two to lay them ,and if you have to relift to add or take adhesive away,lol