Search the forum,

Discuss Topps Tiles -Love it or hate it? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

TilersTilingTiles

Recently priced a job in a loft conversion. One bathroom and one ensuit shower room About 50m2 total with porceline floor tiles and ceramic wall tiles. The client asked me to provide a labour only quote and a seperate quote detailing the materials needed and how much I could supply it all for. Apparently topps tiles is doing a discount on materials if you buy your tiles through them too. Anyway it turned out that I could get the materials for just under half of what topps quoted even with the discount.

Topps tiles used to be our main supplier when i was an apprentice and when they used to have their own brands of adhesive were very reasonably priced.

Now some of my clients are paying £50 a bag for Bal rapid set flexi. How do they justify that!

Topps Tiles -Love it or hate it? for more...

Tile Forums @ tilerstilingtiles.co.uk

L

LM Ceramics

im in between with topps there alrite i now use tile clearing house or euxton tiles

G

Grace'sDad

Agreed - it is extortionate what they charge but if you can charge it and they the public will pay it - why not??? I charge as much as I can. I have a family to look after. They have shareholders to look after.

The whole Topps issue is very much dependant each store and it's staff and managers. Preston store is excellent in my opinion for trade and public.
Their hands are tied by Directors decisions a little too much in my opinion but I think the staff there are 1st rate.

C

cornish_crofter

Topps are Ok on the whole. They beat CTD's offer price for a Rubi TS 60 plus recently, and got it in for me in a few days. They also stock a few things that CTD in my area don't, and they have longer opening hours.