Search the forum,

Discuss Laying Brazilian Sate in the DIY Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Andy

TF
Reaction score
Hi there Newbie here , I have a couple of questions for you guys / girls , Firstly is it possible to lay Brazilian slate tiles straight into sharp sand that’s been levelled and whacked down , Secondly which grout do you use and thirdly what to use to give a wet look too the tiles , I’ve read dozens of threads on interweb but all conflicting my head is well and truly battered many thanks for any help Andy

D

Dumbo

Do you mean sand and cement or just sand ,
Grout wise probably bal flexible wide joint grey grout .

You can put a topical sealer on to make them shine but this is not great as it wears dull , basically if you want something shiny buy something shiny , sows ears and silk purses etc ,

T

Time's Ran Out

Assuming it’s exterior and they are 50mm thick yes lay in sand!
No need to grout as it will fall out as the tiles/paviors move and nothing will stay shiny outside for very long.

Andy

TF
Reaction score
Do you mean sand and cement or just sand ,
Grout wise probably bal flexible wide joint grey grout .

You can put a topical sealer on to make them shine but this is not great as it wears dull , basically if you want something shiny buy something shiny , sows ears and silk purses etc ,
Hi it’s just sharp sand , and yes ya Ryt about silk purse n sows ears ,, I’m thinking it’s one big mess at present, cheers

B

Bill

To get a gloss finish, try a masonry varnish - did loads of slate in the eighties with a fashion to have a gloss look. It works.

D

Dumbo

Already has I recon , any tips on how to rectify the problem ? Would be greatly appreciated, cheers
Let's just clarify. When you say is it possible what you mean is you or someone has done it and how can you fix it ? Is that right

Andy

TF
Reaction score