Search the forum,

Discuss How did you learn your trade? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

ScottG13

Just wondered how the majority of you got into tiling.
College, Course, Apprenticeship, or self taught maybe?

D

doug boardley

through platering, I worked for a smallish firm, so we had to do allsorts, tiling seemed to suit me, so I became designated tiler:thumbsup:

K

kent tiler

same as plastering worked for a block plastering he did tiling i did plastering started tiling with him then twiged i was beter then him still plaster and tile for him now and then :prrr:
i think if you dont know somthing lern teach your self if your a numty that cant be asked then go on the dole but for sume thats even hard work :lol: sort your life out i bet 90% of you if you cant tile you can do somthing to keep your self going
I never went too school went to work so there go's reading/righting out the window but im in the trade still going

Last edited by a moderator:
A

albyshellshear

did a bit on my own house and at my shop I then relised I enjoy doing this, so started doing a bit for family and freinds now totaly hooked, I just wish I had done a course when I was younger.

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
when i left school at 16 went to the job center ;saw a job for appentice tiler ;wanted to learn a trade;went for the job got the job ;work with a guy who had been tileing for years; we were doing mainly site work ;i spent a whole year just grouting ;mixing addy; and cleaning out buckets ;eventualy i was let lose on spash backs and kitchens; and it all snow balled from there .

M

mikethetile

my first trade is decorating, the man who i was apprenticed to also tiled so we did all the firms tiling

i reaaly enjoyed tiling

i achieved advanced craft city and guilds plus city and guilds interior design

i was set for life as a decorator and designer

in my early twenties i was painting a dormer and the ladder slipped out at the bottom