Discuss what weight tiles will paramount take in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Eddy66

-
Reaction score
Hi Guys, another newbie here, what weight in kgs per sqm will honeycomb plasterboard walls take please? Paramount Partition wall boards type. I want to fully tile my bathroom walls in 600x300 ceramic tiles but, since finding out the wall structure I am now concerned the walls won’t take the weight - help please.

Eddy66

-
Reaction score
Yes they are, currently half tiled with 6x6 bog standard ceramic tiles with white emulsion walls. The existing tiles are dropping off and the plaster underneath looks like new (24 year old house). I thought take the existing off, make good if required, Unibond all walls, use Mapei waterproof paint for where the shower over bath will be and then add the new 600x300 ceramic tiles. My main concern is the weight on the paramount walls (new to me) though I see what you may be getting at, as I suppose the skim could break away under the weight? Thank you for your time.

Albert

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Yes they are, currently half tiled with 6x6 bog standard ceramic tiles with white emulsion walls. The existing tiles are dropping off and the plaster underneath looks like new (24 year old house). I thought take the existing off, make good if required, Unibond all walls, use Mapei waterproof paint for where the shower over bath will be and then add the new 600x300 ceramic tiles. My main concern is the weight on the paramount walls (new to me) though I see what you may be getting at, as I suppose the skim could break away under the weight? Thank you for your time.
The reason Dave is asking if they are skimmed is because skimmed boards will take less
weight than unskimmed

Eddy66

-
Reaction score
The reason Dave is asking if they are skimmed is because skimmed boards will take less
weight than unskimmed