Discuss Using the correct trowel in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

M

Matty A

Hi everyone im new to the tiling game, i put myself through a short 4 day course as ive been wanting to change my career for ages now, at the time of the course i thought it was a brilliant course BUT as im now finding out all the different things involved in tiling i realise the course teaches you very little.
Dont get me wrong the things it did teach me were good but im even confused as to which trowels are used for what as there are a few different ones or can you use the square notched for all walls (wet or dry)
and the same thick bed solid bed trowel for floors (wet or dry)?
And what is the Solid bed tipped trowel used for ?
Any feed back would be greatly appretiated cheers.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
Matty A said:
Hi everyone im new to the tiling game, i put myself through a short 4 day course as ive been wanting to change my career for ages now, at the time of the course i thought it was a brilliant course BUT as im now finding out all the different things involved in tiling i realise the course teaches you very little.
Which course did you do, if you don't mind me asking?
Matty A said:
Don't get me wrong the things it did teach me were good but im even confused as to which trowels are used for what as there are a few different ones or can you use the square notched for all walls (wet or dry)
Don't know what you mean as in wet or dry, do you mean adhesive types? (Powder and Bucket or Cement Based and Dispersion which is their more formal description.