Discuss Tiling Over Floorboards - Bathroom in the Australia area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

D

Dominic Patterson

First of all, hello, I'm a newbie (have some rental properties which I work on) and am redoing our bathroom at home and creating an en-suite.

After tiling the en suite myself I decided to employ a tiler to do the main bathroom (also my wife insists, quite rightly).

I've had 3 tilers look at the job and have been told 3 different methods of how they will be doing the floor. My question is which one is correct?

Job is 1st floor bathroom, usual T&G floorboards on joists. Floor approximately 3m2. Floor is ok, fairly sound but probably not level and some high spots (which I could plane?). Tiles are 600x300 porcelain. Walls are ok and he will be doing 23m2 on there. So 26m2 in all with one window and tiling bath panel.

Tiler 1 says he would use a durabase matting in usual way. (most expensive £*** ish)
Tiler 2 says he will glue (with RSF) and screw 6mm hardiebacker, then tile (middle price £*** ish)
Tiler 3 says he will use a 2 part flexi adi and apply direct to floorboards (cheapest £*** ish)

Tiler 1 is too expensive anyway but that isn't because of his chosen way of doing the floor. Tiler 2 was recommended and tiler 3 I got from picking a card up at Topps.

So which is best? Only a bathroom fitter suggested ply and I didn't want the big step in from the landing.

macten

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Tiler 2. Just get existing boards flat and deflection free first

Reaction score
tiler 1.......£***.......that equates to roughly £xx per m2 inc materials........

im in the wrong game, i reckon i should get the tools back out!

TBH, there is nothing wrong with tiler 1&2s methods, providing the floors isnt like a tramoline.

D

Dominic Patterson

Tiler 2. Just get existing boards flat and deflection free first
Thanks for your reply.