Discuss Tiling on polypipe ufh overlay boards in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

prbrown

DIY Tiler
Reaction score
Hi Newbie here (DIY - small jobs only!)
Need to get a pro in to do a floor (35m2 or so kitchen/utility room) which has had polypipe ufh overlay boards freshly laid down. Tiling with a 600 x 300 porcelain floor tile.
Question is what is the best option to tile on the boards - poly pipe have give various answers depending on what time of day i call from tile direct on top (with flexible adhesive), put down a membrane (ditra tilmaster etc) through to you should put down hardie backer boards first!
I'm trying to keep the floor build up to a minimum (as well as cost!) but dont want to cause problems down the line if leaks / new floors needed etc.
Any advices on best way forward appreciated. eg is there a thinner cheaper alternative to hardie backer boards that wont act as a heat barrier?
thx paul

O

Old Mod

Hi and welcome to the forum Paul.
There was a thread similar to this last week.
Have a read, if you have more questions that’s absolutely fine.
There are two methods explained, my preference is toward the end.
Hope this helps.

prbrown

DIY Tiler
Reaction score
many thanks - thats really useful
so hardie backer boards wouldnt be your preferred route - Humm
reason i thought these would be good is to give areas (around walls/pipe return/doorways with exposed pipes runs) a level surface to tile against. eg see photo
i dont really want to use a SLC/adhesive to enclose the pipes - polypipe dont recomend/guarantee that
if i use detra25 matting my guess is the pipes would be covered by adhesive so a bit of catch 22.
the boards build up more and will cost a bit more (but not significant when adhesive/time etc taken into account) but will be easier to lay (i think/assume) - 6mm is a bind though!