Discuss Tiling around windows without trim challenge in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

K

K613

Hi everyone, this is my first post, although I've been gleaning advice for some time - thanks :thumbsup:
I'm not a pro tiler, but have done a fair bit of tiling for myself over the past couple of years with good results. In the next couple of months I'll be renovating the bathroom in our new house, including tiling the whole room.
I am hoping that one of you pros might be able to give me some advice on tiling around the window? I know about the edging trim and have used it successfully in the past. In my view it's quick, clean and looks good. However Mrs613 isn't very keen on it. She says it's plastic, cheap and nasty looking and should be reserved for public toilets... Mrs613 doesn't hang back when she doesn't like something :mad2:
As we know, the customer is always right...
So, I'm looking for a good way of tiling around the window without using trim. Does anyone have any suggestions?!
Mrs613 (who is not originally from these shores) claims that a popular technique in her homeland is to mitre the cuts around the outside corners, similar to the outside cuts of eg skirting board - or that's how I understand it anyway. Does anyone know if this is possible? I guess it would have to be done with an electric cutter, although Mrs613 was talking about filing the mitre angle?!!??! If it is possible, would it work with a ceramic tile - I can imagine it with natural stone, but don't see it working with ceramic?
I suggested plasterboarding over the window, but that didn't go down well :lol:
Any suggestions/advice would be much appreciated. As I'm effectively self taught, perhaps there is something obvious that I simply don't know about??
Thanks in advance
K613

beanz

TF
Reaction score
Why not go for the metal square trim? Much classier than the plastic trim IMHO.