Discuss Tile backer boards needing tanked and makes of boards in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Trying to Get bathroom re tiled, had conflicting advice from a few tilers, I’m a total novice but like to read up on what is correct procedure.

Cos I’m a female i think some tilers can just spin me a line regarding tiling😀

anyway the existing tiles once taken off I aim to do that myself, I believe they tiled on to bare brick, so walls won’t be good afterwards.

I was led to believe that the wall around Bath, as having a overhead shower needs to be tanked, is it the full area inside bath

However one tiler said to get wall plastered than PVA then tile, I mentioned tanking he looked at me shocked, but I thought why Pay to get walls plastered then to tile over it? But then I have read you need to take into account weight of tiles, they are 8.4 mm 300x600, I don’t think he liked that i queried him.

Another tiler said if use a tile Backer board don’t have to tank as they waterproof, I just want to know what correct procedure is don’t want to be a pain in axxx, but prefer to do it the correct way and only once,

Also if wanting to tile bath panel what’s the technique if ever need access, can you get magnets or have I imagined that😳, both tilers said if had a good plumber wouldn’t need access, but if that worried order a few extra tiles, in case you need to break one or just get a plastic bath panel.
i wanting a enclosed cistern with top flush plate I’d backer board the way to go, as believe plywood not acceptable.

I just feel if not knowledgeable myself they might just skip A stage in preparation, then a few yrs Down line incur issues.

Any recommendations on backer boards to use for wall and floor there is no UFH and where to source from.

Also what timespan should I be looking for it’s only a small bathroom but wall floor 20sqm

Reaction score