Discuss Successfull or not?? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

P

PJackson

How many of you out there have made a genuine living out of becoming a self employed tiler after doing a 2 or 3 week course?.

Money isn’t all for me as I am looking to leave a very well paid profession, so the change is more important. Just need to know I can get enough work to feed myself ;-)

I am hoping it would take a year or maybe less to really get things moving.

On the subject of charging and rates etc, does a tiling course cover this in detail?

I am looking at going to Swindon for my training.

Thanks again
Pete

D

DHTiling

Tiling is a very lucrative trade and it really is just down to hard work and commitment to the job..it has its ups and downs but I've been tiling for nearly 18 yrs now and i wouldn't do any other job ....dave..

S

scrubmuncher

I know 4 or 5 lads who appeared from nowhere in the area who have done the short course at the Northeast place, (they said it was a good course, although maybe a bit misleading about how much work/money was to be made) 3 of them have gone back to their old jobs and the others are not making anything like a living up to now (maybe £2000 at most over the year), and are looking at other options, I dont think it was all they were led to believe. If I'm allowed my honest opinion on this, can the trade sustain the amount of tilers turning up? no it can't we've a huge number of very skilled tradesmen entering the county who are genuinely excellent at what they do, and cheaper, and a lot of quick turnout tiling courses going on, I genuinely wish every lad who gives it a go all the luck in the world but somethings gotta give. As it is in this area, even the old timers are getting pissed off and selling up to make room for the £15 p/m brigade.