Discuss Something wrong with this installation? in the America area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Leanne

-
Reaction score
New here and no knowledge of professional tiling! I had one installer do three new bathrooms. He came on several recommendations and did all trades including tiling (plumber/heating engineer by trade). Mostly happy with the installation, only exception being the floor tiles finish isn't as expected. Love the tiles (Colorker Concept Cream, 595x595) but the end product looks like the tiles have a dark rim round the edges when the actual tile edge is the same colour as the surface. I had thought maybe grout too low, so mentioned to installer who said he always does it like that and uses his finger to smooth it. He reluctantly said he will top up the grout as doesn't want to take it out as not "technically wrong". The installation was 6 months ago though, it's just taken this long to get him back to the house as he's always booked up months in
Screenshot_2023-01-08-09-22-01-12_965bbf4d18d205f782c6b8409c5773a4.jpg
Screenshot_2023-01-08-09-20-47-46_965bbf4d18d205f782c6b8409c5773a4.jpg
advance. Looking closer though the edges are uneven so not sure topping up grout will actually help. Grout is gunmetal grey a d after 6 months now looks discoloured/patchy. Any advice appreciated, even if it turns out I am just being overly picky! Thanks.

eddcottee

Arms
Reaction score
Let him top that grout up and see whether or not you are happy. Does look low from the pictures, hopefully the re-visit will sort it out. If you are worried about the colour fading etc, get a sealer for it and then it shouldnt discolour. Just make sure it's fully cured before you seal it.

Leanne

-
Reaction score