Discuss Sealing Moisture resistant plasterboard in the America area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Sealing Moisture resistant plasterboard
Hi I am new here, I have been reading through many of the threads here and see that there a lots of knowledgeable people here and hopefully I can get some answers to a problem I find myself in.

I am a retired builder and recently have refurbished a bungalow for my wife and I, part of this work includes and en-suite bathroom, a shower room and the kitchen which have all been tiled. We removed all the old wall tiles from the existing bathroom, which left the walls in a rough and poor condition, the tiler said "that's no problem, I have tiled over much worse than that" However I decided that to make things easier for him and to ensure we get a good job done, we boarded out the areas with moisture resistant plasterboard bonded dab and dot to the existing walls, we also carried out some additional plastering and essentially gave him all new surfaces to tile.
He said he would prime the new plaster and fill and seal the joints, corners, screws and also where the moisture resistant boards meet the bath and shower tray, saying that it will make it water tight, if ever any moisture were ever to penetrate the tiles or sealant.

Sorry my question, what would you have used to fill and seal the moisture resistant plaster boarding?

Sorry for the long story, but from now I will try and keep things much shorter as there is much more to come ....

Thanks in advance
Graham

Reaction score
64 views and no answers, so is no one using moisture resistant plasterboard or filling the joints and corners etc, I was made to believe this was done thing.

I would appreciate your help please guys.

Thanks

J

JasonJfix

I’m a novice but I’ve done research. Firstly according to manufacturer you’re not supposed to dot and dab green moisture board because of the high silica content.