Discuss Planning a level access shower in the Tanking and Wetrooms Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Hello all. Newbie here. I'm new to the forum so go easy on me!
I'm looking for advice, please, having trawled the net and ended up here.
So far I've had conflicting advice about the best way to create my en suite shower room in the new extension/bedroom (1st floor). Room is approx 1.8m x 2.0m, with 22mm t&g chipboard over pretty hefty 195mm x 47mm joists (1.8m span).
Ideally I would like a level access shower with tiles throughout and a glass screen as opposed to an enclosure.
I was going to proceed as follows but now I'm not so sure:
Remove floor boards under tray, batten joists, 18mm marine ply to joist level. Prime floor (SBR?). Fit Prowarm 30mm former, fit 6mm Prowarm boards to rest. Tape joints, corners etc & paint with sealer. Fit ufh heat mats to all but shower, level compound, tile (mosaics to tray area).
However, having read some comments re Prowarm boards, I'm now worried about compression and thinking maybe Hardiebacker is better?
I'm using 12mm Hardiebacker to shower area walls.
I've seen the Tuff-form type trays but my joist centres are 600mm and the tray would be 800mm so would overhang the joists. Not sure how to overcome this as all of the YouTube clips seem to show exact fit between joists. Also, if I use a 22mm tray then the floor level will be higher than the tray once I've boarded over the chipboard?
As you can tell, I find it all confusing. Please advise. Ta.

F

Flintstone

Ditch the Hardie and use the insulation boards on walls and floor. Thicker on the walls depending on solid or stud?

Reaction score