Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Is a gap needed between shower tray and wall tiles? in the Tanking and Wetrooms Forum area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

Oddbod

-
Reaction score
Please checkout the following advertisement.
I'm sorry to be asking more questions, but I'm quite worried about my current tiler's work.

After further inspecting his progress I note that the wall tiles are installed hard down onto the shower tray most of the way around the tray.

Shouldn't there be at least a 2 mm gap between the tray and the tiles, both for expansion and to insert a primary silicone seal into the gap before finishing with a final cosmetic seal over the top?

That's the way I've done it myself in the past, but I'm not a professional and the tiler currently working on my house has a different idea, as you can see from the photos attached.

I'd welcome any input on this, particularly any thoughts as to whether the tile in this case will be acceptable, as I really don't want to have to pull them off and start over.

Thanks again everybody for your valued guidance.

ShowerTray1.jpg

ShowerTray2.jpg

D

Deleted member 43753

I think what you have is acceptable from the photo and there is no need for changing the tiles if expansion is your concern between the tiles and shower tray. What does your current tiler say about this?

OP
O

Oddbod

-
Reaction score
I think what you have is acceptable from the photo and there is no need for changing the tiles if expansion is your concern between the tiles and shower tray. What does your current tiler say about this?
Thanks Cris for your thoughts. The tiler just said that's the way plumbers on site have always told him to do it, basically to save them time, as I understood it.

D

Dave d rave