Discuss How to layout tile in 1/3 offset pattern in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Hello all,
I have all the tile I need and the materials to redo my bathroom shower. This is my first time tiling and I have already completed the shower floor.

I need help\advice on how to lay the tile on the shower wall. I am using 12 x 24 inch tiles with 1/8 inch grout lines. My shower wall is 59 1/2 inches in height and 81 3/4 inches in width. The manufacturer of the tile recommends a 15-30% offset pattern on laying out the tile. I just don't know how to do this, where to start or where to cut etc.
I was hoping to find one of those calculators similar to the one that helps to determine how many tiles are needed by inputting the square footage of the room, but instead, showing how to do your layout with the dimensions I inputted above.
Does anyone know how I should lay them out? I honest;y don't care of the pattern, if its 15 or 30 percent, whatever, just want to get started.
Thanks.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
What you're asking is perhaps the hardest part of tiling. The setting out of it.

So you need to start at a position where all the tiles when laid mean there are no small or difficult cuts. Taking features into account so in a bathroom perhaps the window and bath and wash basin etc.

Can you show us some pictures of the room?

Dave

TF
Staff member
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Hello all,
I have all the tile I need and the materials to redo my bathroom shower. This is my first time tiling and I have already completed the shower floor.

I need help\advice on how to lay the tile on the shower wall. I am using 12 x 24 inch tiles with 1/8 inch grout lines. My shower wall is 59 1/2 inches in height and 81 3/4 inches in width. The manufacturer of the tile recommends a 15-30% offset pattern on laying out the tile. I just don't know how to do this, where to start or where to cut etc.