Discuss Help Vinyl Flooring !! in the Floor Advice - Flooring Forum area at TilersForums.com

A

Alpha Omega

Hi all

Went to quote a wet room last night,
Customer wants the vinyl floor like in hospitals to keep the cost down ?

I have no experience at all with this type of vinyl so any help would be appreciated

I have been thinking for sometime of investing in the gear needed so maybe now is the time, what do you think ? do many people have this over tiles ?

Firstly what equipment is needed to heat seal
How do you seal the corners
where do the tiles finish or should I suggest running the vinyl up the wall as per the hospital ?

I don't want to walk away from this as there's quite a bit of tiling involved

Thanks

Gary

G

grumpygrouter

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Why do they think it will keep the costs down, some of this flooring can be very expensive stuff! have they priced it?

A

Alpha Omega

Hi Grumpy

All left to me, have found a supplier prices per mtr which are fairly good so feel like giving it a go, thought it may be a good addition

I know it won't be much cheaper but still good to be able to offer me thinks !

Last edited by a moderator:
T

theyomper

This type of flooring is normally ALTRO Safety flooring. It has non slip properties and believe it or not is has metal filings in it. It will eat stanley blades. Any joins are normally heat welded and internal and external corners take a bit of forming to get them right. It is normal practice to use a heavy roller to ensure there is full adhesion to the sub floor.

You are able to buy formers to ensure a even perimeter........imagine coving on the floor.

Have you thought about subbying it out and making a bit on it rather than buying all the correct tools to do it with?

Last edited by a moderator:
A

Ajax123

TF
Arms
Reactions
862 6