Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Grout/silicon type and colour? in the Adhesive and Grout area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

Kcoh

TF
Reaction score
Please checkout the following advertisement.
Hi all,

First of all this is my first time tile and I’m diyer.

After a month I’m almost there with my tile. See attached photo. I have 2 different tiles as it can be seen, the marbles are on all 3 walls and it’s going on the floor too, it suppose to have 2mm joints but because the edges are bevelled, the joints appear much larger with 2mm spacers (very dissatisfied) and on one wall I have rectified split face tiles with 1mm joints. I have used mapei s1 grey https://www.tilersforums.com/forums/tile-adhesive/ for all the tile. I was recommended sliver grey grout by the tile seller so I bought mapei as attached. But looking on this forum, I see epoxy grout mentioned a lot being stain resistant and waterproof, sounds very appealing to me. Do you guys recommend going for the epoxy? I have already waterproofed the tile backer boards but I wouldn’t mind a secondary barrier and I’m very worried of grout staining by the https://www.tilersforums.com/forums/tile-adhesive/. If yes, what do you recommend and what colour preferably for my tiles? Also for sealant, what do you recommend and again what colour? I’d prefer obviously if I can get away with one grout colour and sealant colour for all, but I welcome any input :) Moreover, do you recommend to have the same joint size on the floor for the marbles due to above? I.e. 2mm? I will have underfloor heating and the floor size is 1.6m by 0.95m. I appreciate your advice.

Attachments

• 82F4598C-3AB1-456E-AB2C-D675B9EAEF59.jpeg
    82F4598C-3AB1-456E-AB2C-D675B9EAEF59.jpeg
    872.1 KB · Views: 21
  • 181F66AA-5ABA-4B85-A10D-9A3F2DDF76D8.jpeg
    181F66AA-5ABA-4B85-A10D-9A3F2DDF76D8.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 19
  • 9C6A51B2-77F3-47C2-B5EE-B34103F23B5B.png
    9C6A51B2-77F3-47C2-B5EE-B34103F23B5B.png