Discuss Grout problem in shower area in the Tanking and Wetrooms Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

J

Jon B

Hi hope someone can help. I have quite a few years of tiling experience but never had this problem before. Fortunately the job was in our own house and we have another shower so there is no irate customer but my wife.
3 weeks ago I completed a fully tiled ensuite including a shower area. The tiles are 600x300 porcelain, the adhesive was Topps bagged slow-set adhesive. I grouted with BAL bagged Micromax. The grout was opened in november for another job and had been kept in dry conditions. After a week we used the shower for the first time (it was used twice for I suppose 10 mins total) and found grout dust in the tray. On closer inspection I could see the surface of the lower grout lines was soft and bits had washed off. So I raked out the affected grout lines, re-grouted with the same product but from a new bag and this time left it for 2 weeks as per the manufacturer's guidelines. Just used the shower this morning and we have the same problem on grout lines grouted with the older grout 3 weeks ago and with the newer grout 2 weeks ago. If I run my finger along the grout lines, it is as if it were only grouted yesterday, the surface is soft and can be smeared, even out of the direct shower area where the grout is wet from spray and condensation. My fear is that I will have to rake it all out in the shower area and redo with a new bag. I have used this grout many times before and never had this problem. Any ideas?

J

Jon B