Discuss "Dry mix" vs. concrete screed and which is stronger and price differences? in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Ronin63

TF
Reaction score
Good morning everyone!

I am a contractor for interiors and have an inquiry about ceramic tile fixation. I have a contractor, that has quoted for concrete screed , for the tile fixation. On site, he did a dry fix, now,,i'm not a mason, and i did some youtube searches, and ,,please clarify this....youtube vids, seem to show the dry fix method, to be a sand/cement , with a sprinkling of water, and level the mixture up to required levels. then they let it dry??or i got that wrong..because my contractor, simply mixed the sand/cement mixture, got the required levels, then through down the ceramic tiles after splashing a whitish cement(glue)?? on top of the sand/cement mixture.
Now i paid for screed, because in my opinion pouring a concrete screed and letting it dry, will give me a solid foundation to lay my tiles down on, with an appropriate tile adhesive.
Is my understanding of the dry mix method misunderstood?? and shouldn't the dry mix method be significantly less in price for installation,,since i am paying for screed??

Thank you.

D

Dumbo

Why would think that when there is the same amount of material going in . Why is he doing it this way do you have time constraints .

Ronin63

TF
Reaction score
No, there is plenty of time. I have seen plenty of contractors doing this method and i feel it is far inferior of an installation method. I realize that they are doing this, to save time, because they can throw down the sand/cement, then install the ceramic tiles immediately. No waiting for a proper screed to dry.

B

Bill

Before adhesive - fixing in sand and cement was the only way to have a solid bed.