Discuss Ditra 25 and Kerdi Keba for floor, walls and wetroom? in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

C

Chris Churchill

Hi all, I'm not much of a forum poster, and am also new here to this one.
Additionally, in pre-admission, I'm no professional tiler (although I've successfully performed various vast scale tiling jobs at home), just an avid DIYer.

My situation which lead me to post here revolves around me starting a new first floor extension where I'm installing both a new main bathroom and en-suite which I'd like to wetroom.

As this is on the first floor in a 1930's house, supported by 7x2 joists I am going over timber floorboards. These boards are good and solid, and thankfully, I've got a route to plumb the wetroom trays under the floor without affecting any joists (which is rather fortunate).

Additionally, to accommodate for lateral movement (being on wood and all) I've bought myself 30 meters of Ditra 25 and 60 meters of Kerdi Keba band which I managed to pick up at a really good price.

So, now to my enquiries... :

1) Is it better for me to rip up the floorboards and replace them with 25mm ply before laying the Ditra (keeping in mind that the existing floorboards are perfectly sound)? Additionally, should I be laying anything ontop of that before the Ditra? (This seems like quite a controversial topic)

2) As I have enough Ditra to cover my floor space in spades, can I use this leftover to tank my walls too (NOTE: these [stud] walls don't exist yet, so insert preferred backing board of choice here) or should I:
a) Aquaboard the walls and use paint on tanking?
or
b) Get fabric membrane - like the Kerdi membrane?

2) With regards to how to apply the Kerdi Keba band across all screws and cracks etc, do I have to get the Kerdi Coll adhesive or will a good flexi adhesive do the job? - If so, what do you recommend at a sensible price?