Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Damage to my tiles, can it be fixed? in the Tiling Advice | Tile Forum area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

Reaction score
Please checkout the following advertisement.
Hello, hoping you can offer some advice,
We recently had awnings fitted to our balcony, as you can hopefully see from the photos the balcony is tiled with porcelain tiles. To attached the guide wires to the balcony floor, the installers drilled the tiles and then hammered a slightly expanded pin into the tile. During the hammering, the tiles significantly chipped (as you can see from the photos), unfortunately, then carried on and did this to all of the tiles. There was no prewarning that this was a risk, the person that came to quote had seen what the floor tiles were. In the eve, when we wound the awning up, one of the six pins just popped out.
I’m not a professional, but in my opinion, they should have drilled the tile, secured some sort of anchoring into the floor and then screwed the fitting in. It would have been much more secure and wouldn’t have popped out.
Couple of questions:
  • I’m am going to ask for the tiles to be replaced (we have spares), do see any other way to fix this?
  • How realistic is it that then can remove a tile that close to a glass balustrade?
  • How do you think these should have been secured to the floor?
Photos attached, thanks for your help,

Attachments

• 20191117_110018.jpg
    20191117_110018.jpg
    132.6 KB · Views: 80
  • 20191117_110023.jpg
    20191117_110023.jpg
    108.1 KB · Views: 79
  • 20191117_110027.jpg
    20191117_110027.jpg
    99.8 KB · Views: 70
  • 20191117_110031.jpg
    20191117_110031.jpg
    131.3 KB · Views: 70
O

Old Mod

Oh my word, what a mess!
yes tiles can be replaced, but where you currently have nice finishes around the balustrade, cutting around them won’t have such a good finish.
you’ll end up with a mastic joint around them unless the complete balustrade is removed first.