Discuss Cutting sqaure 'holes' in porcelain in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

H

hrpuffnstuff

hi all
well I'm a newbie on here, but have been tiling for a very long time now, but I dont tile every single day, only when its part of my job
(I'm a Kitchen/bathroom installer)

OK....My friend has brought 400mm x 400mm porcelain tiles and I have to cut 8 x double electric sockets in these tiles.
Some of these 'square holes' are very near to the edge of the tiles.

So my question is this...............
How can i cut a hole in a porcelain tile to take a double electric socket.
I have 8 of the 'square holes' to cut

Cheers in advance folks

T

Time's Ran Out

:welcome: I doubt that's your real name!

Well Mr puffnstuff have you got an electric diamond wheel wet tile cutter.
If so make your marks on the back of the tile - take off the guard - and place tile over wheel. Works nearly every time for me.
You can of course use a 100mm diamond blade angle grinder.

Have fun.

John.

B

brian c

with John on this one or alternatively get one of the guys on the forum to do it for you for a small fee:smilewinkgrin:

H

hrpuffnstuff

:welcome: I doubt that's your real name!

Well Mr puffnstuff have you got an electric diamond wheel wet tile cutter.
If so make your marks on the back of the tile - take off the guard - and place tile over wheel. Works nearly every time for me.
You can of course use a 100mm diamond blade angle grinder.

Have fun.

John.

Hi John
Thanks for the reply, yes I have, and didnt think of doing it that way:oops:
BUT a question.....WHY MARK THE BACK OF THE TILE??
Why not the front and then I can see what I am doing

Is it because its a PORCELAIN TILE??

Coz maybe I can use an angle grinder with a diamond blade that way

Cheers again

D

DHTiling

Angle grinder with a turbo blade....is better if you have not done plunge cuts before....