Discuss Commissioning under floor heating in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

rj1882

TF
Reaction score
Good evening. Could someone kindly give me an idea of the process of commissioning water fed under floor heating which has been set in sand and cement screed. It’s fully dried and is ready to be commissioned record I may it and tile it.
I’ve got some knowledge but it would be great to gain some more knowledge. Least of all so I can show the builder in black and white the process

thanks in advance

O

Old Mod

Starting at its lowest setting of ambient temp approx 15°
Start to increase temp to max at a rate of 5° every two days until maximum is reached.
Hold for 48hrs and decrease till back at ambient temp at the same rate as you took it up.
it takes a couple of weeks normally.
Then leave off for 24hrs before tiling.
Others say 5° a day, from what I’ve learnt over the years, a rate of 2.5° a day is preferred.
There will always be different opinions on a matter like this, but as an average, it seems to be the safest route.

rj1882

TF
Reaction score
Thank you for taking the time to reply. I was thinking along the same tracks but just needed someone else’s opinion. Thank you.

D

Dumbo

The fact youre having to show your builder bothers me , this makes me think he is tiling it and didnt want to commision correctly .
If this is the case what else is he going to do wrong , does he have the skill set ,
Hopefully im wrong but if not please get a tiler

rj1882

TF
Reaction score
Hi. Thanks for the reply. I’m tiling it but just. Had to explain why this needs to be done. I know many builders that look in shock horror when you tell them the floor needs commissioning lol

Ajax123

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score