Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Chipboard floor prep in the Tiling News; Tile News area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

Please checkout the following advertisement.
Hi guys, this is my first post so please be gentle on me!! I'm a self employed tiler although sadly I wasnt on the job trained I went to a college in the UK to qualify in 8 weeks. Seemed at the time that it was a reasonable thing to do but reading through the posts desperately craving technical knowledge I realise quite how much these establishments are churning people out without the proper information to carry out jobs to a standard. Luckily I've got six years experience as a Stonemason behind me (did my apprenticeship and first introduced to tile whilst doing wet trades at the College of FE on my 'day release'!) which has given me a good background knowledge in building. And yet still I struggle and without this site and all you guys giving great advice I would be up the proverbial creek! Anyway my question is this. I've got a bathroom to do, walls and floor. Taken advantage of Ardex doing a free WPC kit this month (thanks to info gleaned off this site! Thanks again lads!) and I'm going to be using it on the shower area in this bathroom. The customer didnt want it but I told him I was getting it for nothing and wouldn't charge him for the material or the labour as I just want to see what it's like and at the time I knew his accepting my quote was borderine and this offer sealed it. Anyway I was wondering, as I know I'll have a lot left over, is it possible to deck the chipboard floor out with 18mm ply and then instead of using a backer board just paint the wpc on to it for moisture stability? Just while I've got it and it means I can hand my bill in for less than my quote was as I wont have to use the wedi or the extra https://www.tilersforums.com/forums/tile-adhesive/ or extra labour. And knocking money off my quotes is something I'm getting a rep for and it seems to be working f