Discuss Can anyone help with some info about Travertine? in the America area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

T

tileaddict

Hi - am a complete novice here but I'm hoping some of you will be able to answer my very basic and idiotish questions!

We're going to have a new kitchen/diner floor tiled and I'm leaning towards travertine as I think it looks great and appears hardwearing. My questions are:

1. It seems to vary wildly in price. I don't want rubbish but again don't want to spend a fortune if you can get decent stuff for a reasonable price. What's realistic and are there any recommended suppliers (if you can name on this board?)?

2. I don't want anything riven so presumably need to go for "filled" travertine to get a smooth finish. What is "honed"?

3. I know it needs sealing and presumably re-sealing regularly (yearly?). Is that easy to do? With two small children I don't want anything that's going to be high maintenance!

4. I like the idea of a sort of pattern using different sizes laid out. Is that what is meant by "tumbled" or is that something else?

5. Kitchen will be mostly ivory with an oak island and brown (haven't decided exactly which) granite surfaces so anyone with any specific type of travertine they'd recommend?

Many thanks in advance and sorry if these questions are a bit stupid!

TileAddict

G

Gazzer

When looking for travertine the prices will vary. this is mainly due to the amount of filler they use. More filler = lower grade, less filler = higher grade.
It becomes a bit of a compromise to what you consider a reasonable amount to pay. Its best to see the stone you wil be buying before handing over money and dont fall for the sample tile trick as this will no doubt be a good tile out of the batch.
If you require a smooth finish you will need to look at Honed and filled not tumbled.
The pattern will probably the most popular pattern which will be Opus Romano...google it ;)